What’s for supper?

I left behind a large kitchen with plenty of counter space to spread out and make a mess while I cooked. My husband use to say I got the neighbors house dirty when I was cooking.

 Hello RV kitchen, I have one 6 ft by 30 in counter that has a sink and stove top in it with covers over each to give you a little more space.  Cooking can be a challenge, and using very many appliances at once just doesn’t work.

messy-kitchen

When downsizing to our motor home I stumbled upon the Instant pot. This is an electric pressure cooker that can take the place of many appliances, you can even make some amazing deserts in it. I bought one and fell in love. I practiced many meals, plus cheesecake, banana bread and brownies. My crockpot was destined to be sold in the yard sale.

20161227_13374320170117_16260120170226_151828-1img_4493

Meal planning is a must if you are going to boondock for any length of time. No running off to enjoy beer and pizza when you are more than 30 minutes away from the nearest town. You also have to decide if your meals are going to be cooked outside over a fire, inside using your gas stove top or useing some sort of electrical appliance that won’t suck too much of your solar power. Microwaving doesn’t work and I don’t like to use it anyway.

menu

One of the things I like to do is cook a whole chicken in the Instant pot and then repackage in recipe size portions and freeze. Cooking enough for several meals and freezing leftovers makes for more time hiking, biking or any activity away from the kitchen.

One of my go to meals is placing fresh green beans in the bottom of the instant pot with 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth, you can also add bacon or sliced mushrooms. Then place the trivet in over the green beans. Take a nice slab of  ham and place it on a square of aluminum foil, add some brown sugar and honey. Seal it all up and place on the trivet. Close the lid, and set on manual for 25 minutes. When it is done cooking it will stay warm until you are ready to eat.

Now go take a bike ride or a hike, supper will be ready when ever you get back.

2 thoughts on “What’s for supper?

  1. jim & debbie anderson

    I love your meal planning; especially wine for breakfast. It’s one of the main food groups we all should incorporate!

    Like

Leave a Reply

