Living life on the edge (of insanity)

You need to be a little crazy to let go of what society calls normal and set off to live in an RV.

It wasn’t just one big event that shaped our lives or tipped us over the edge to live as nomads but several things.

But the biggest was cancer.

 Cancer, yeah that dreaded word. First it hit my mother, then my brother, then me. Cancer makes you look at life differently, a lot differently, at least for me it did.

When you think there may be a chance that your life could be cut short you ask yourself what have I accomplished? If I were to die tomorrow what would people remember about me? What has working all those long hours and accumulating all these things gotten me? I can’t take it with me.

Yep, all that crap goes through your head.

Then along came a group of crazy wonderful women called Sister’s on the Fly. They loved the outdoors, loved to camp, and made you feel like you could do anything you put your heart into. They truly helped you believe in yourself. All those wonderful crazy women helped push me over the edge in the most wonderful way possible. So many fond memories were made with my sisters.

fb_img_1467116705917

I bought an old camper and fixed it up to honor all those strong women who went out west and did things people said they couldn’t do. I learned how to hitch her up and tow her down the road. Letting go of that camper was very difficult but it is helping another strong women to make her dreams come true.

 We replaced that little camper with a Tiffin Allegro Bus (that my husband could actually stand up in), and away we went.

One of the first hurtles was getting across the Mackinac Bridge. I’m not a fan of bridges period, but this was no ordinary bridge.hen you are in the passenger seat of a large RV your perception of where the edge of the road is, is altered.  All you see is water on your side.

20160825_115801

I knew my husband was not that fond of driving us over the bridge either. I had to keep my cool to help him keep his. So I put on my big girl panties, strapped on my life jacket and made my self a large cocktail.

We made it over just fine, or at least he said we did, I don’t remember much more than the bad headache the next morning.

8 thoughts on “Living life on the edge (of insanity)

  1. Starla Banther

    So brave Roxx! I admire you so much for living your dream! Not only are you one of the best nurses that I have ever had the pleasure of working with, but you are also one of the most fearless people I’ve ever met. I wish that Marvin and I were courageous enough to do what you and Greg are doing. It is truly awesome!

    Like

  2. True, Cancer makes you reevaluate your life . My wife lost her aunts and mother to cancer and had it herself . We all know we are going to die one day but when someone puts your life expectancy in % and years it sure put things in perspective. Suddenly things that you said you do later become higher priority.
    Safe Travel.. thats some bridge and a long way down.. I would have put a parachute on not a life vest.

    Like

  3. We started the full-time RV life just recently–we want to live the adventure while we can. The camper you restored is absolutely gorgeous. Enjoy your travels–we hope to go over that bridge later this year, although I think I’ll do what you did. A cocktail looks like a great idea! Looking forward to following your adventure. Safe travels, take care. Dawn

    Like

  4. Rhoda Weaver Watson

    So true! Two rounds of cancer personally, and attending funerals of family and friends has wiped me out. May 21st my daughter finishes law school and I can think about me! Enjoy your travels. Prayers and blessings sent

    Like

Leave a Reply

